More than 120 museums with history and stories await the visitor along the Castle Road. In addition to the museums of the castles and palaces along the route, the diverse museum landscape covers various topics and presentations.
The collection of the Egyptian Institute was planned in that way, that it reflects as good as possible the life of the Egyptians and their religious beliefs.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 54 25 333
Albrecht Dürer's House, which has recently been restored, presents in a new concept the living and working quarters of one ofthe most famous painters and graphicartists in art history, namely Albrecht Dürer (1471-1528). Valuable copies of Dürer paintings will be presented in the newly created Dürer Hall. In the Cabinet of Prints and Drawings special exhibitions will display treasures from the large number of holdings in the graphics collection of the Nuremberg Museum. And finally, Agnes Dürer, his wife, takes you through the master's house, via an audioguide in several languages and even personally in special tours.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 25 68
A look inside the cottage from 1270 is a wonderful experience, as the centuries seemed to have left it untouched. In eleven originally furnished rooms and cubbyholes is impressively shown, from the ground floor up to the attic, how a few centuries ago a simple artisan lived and worked here with his large family.
Alter Stadtgraben 26
91535 Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Telefon +49 (0) 98 61/ 58 10
One of the largest archaeological collections assembled at a German university, the holdings provide a broad overview of Antique Mediterranean cultures from 3,000 BC through to the time of the Roman Empire.
Antikenmuseum und Abgußsammlung
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 54 25 12
"Frederick the Great" Army Museum displays the history of the Hohenzollern territories in Franconia from the 12th to 19th centuries which are on display in 32 glass cases. It documents the outward appearance and inner structure of an army which altered the course of history on the battlefields of 18th century Europe and focuses in particular on the time of Frederick the Great (1740-1786).The infantry and cavalry are described in detail, as well as the social structure of the troops. The main exhibits are firearms, swords, flags and paintings. The museum was established jointly with the collector and historian Bernd Windsheimer.
The private museum was founded in 1980 by collector Paul Heyd. It shows sports- and touringcars from 1948 to 1960 with manufacturer names like Austin Martin, Bentley or Cadillac.
Motorcycles from the 50s and 60s, email signs, cameras and design from 1959 to 1975 complement the exhibition. Furthermore, there is a collection of fascinating glass art from 1950 to 2000 attached.
Already in the Middle Ages people would literally strongly dress up prior to the enjoyment of culture.
The landmarked "Kulmbacher Badhaus" is completely renovated and informs about the traditions of the bathing culture. It also provides space for changing art exhibitions.
Bavarian Bakery Museum - The arts of baking and dough preparation have a long tradition in the "food focus" of Kulmbach. With many productions, interactive stations and valuable exhibits the visitor goes for a walk of Egyptian baking culture up to the today's bread place variety. In the baker's museum one can see, smell, hear and of course taste history, because at the end of the sightseeing tour a tasty sample from the stone oven will be offered to the visitor.
Bavarian Brewery and Bakery Museum offers an educational and eventful voyage through the world of beer. 3000 m ² illustrate the beer culture with many productions, interactive stations and valuable exhibits. Wonderful old beer mugs, broth houses and bibliophile jewels lure the viewer's eye longer to stay. Enthusiasm is positively encouraged in the glass brewery where the visitor is able to see the master brewers at work.
When it comes to Bonsai trees and plants, this center has something for everyone. The term “bonsai” stands for a tree or shrubbery which is planted in a flat bowl and shaped and groomed so that it looks similar to a large tree. Visitors can also enjoy viewing colourful koi carp in special ponds and even buy the koi of their choice.
Mannheimer Straße 401, Heidelberg-Wieblingen
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 75 70 762
In 2011 the "Deutscher Burgenwinkel" was opened in the former school in Altenstein in the district of Maroldsweisach. This information centre presents multimedia-based the life in a medieval castle.
July to September and during the bavarian Easter and Whitsun holidays:
Wednesday to Sunday and public holidays 10am to 5pm
October to June:
Saturday, Sunday and public holidays 10am to 5pm
Entrance: with costs
The exhibition "living on a knight's castle" with exhibits from the middle ages up to the 19th century shows its visitors more about the history of the Barons of Gemmingen. How did you become a knight? What belonged to a knight's armament? Why were castles built? And how did the occupants of former centuries use to live? The castle's museum gives exciting answers and invides the visitor to an entertaining time travel including meetings with knights, reformers, diplomatic warlords and passionated hunters. Highlight of the castle-experience is the incomparable panoramic sight above the Neckar-valley from the 40 meters high tower.
Heidelberg’s Carl Bosch Museum and its futuristic Museum am Ginkgo offer highly interesting glimpses into the life of the Heidelberg Nobel Prize laureate Carl Bosch (1874 – 1940). The Museum am Ginkgo annex provides additional space for special exhibits.
Carl Bosch Museum
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21 60 36 16
The heart of the new DB Railway Museum is an exhibition landscape on the history of the railway in Germany. The walking tour- over 2,500 m2 on two stories - covers two centuries, including all their technological and economic, political and cultural aspects. Visitors will discover how the railway fundamentally changed all areas of human existence within just a few decades of the 19th century and laid the basis for a mobile society. The multi-media presentations of all of these topics are very varied and well illustrated. Discovery rooms such as the cinema "Adlerama", walk-in tunnels, waiting rooms and train compartments make the tour through the exhibition a fascinating journey of discovery through railway history.
Telefon +49 (0) 18 04/ 44 22 33
The German Pharmacy Museum's collection of over 20.000 objects representing the rich history of medical sciences, especially the history of pharmacy. Housed in one of Germany's architectural landmarks, the Heidelberg Castle, their collection is worldwide the largest and finest in existence, spanning two thousand years of pharmacy history.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 2 58 80
The German Castle Museum, located at Veste Heldburg, is unique in its concept and examines the phenomenon castle with all of its facets. In sixteen rooms the history of the German and international castle building is presented, as well as the life back then in the castle, the different uses and the many myths about the subject "castle". Five further rooms pay attention to the Veste Heldburg and its eventful history.
The Marksmen Museum has a special place on castle Callenberg. Even today there is a real lord of the castle who holds the important neo-Gothic building affectionately. The German marksmen club wants to give an understanding for modern marksmen character with all historical roots and topical phenomena. The visitor experiences a time trip by the cultural history and has the opportunity to become active in the light shooting ground.
im Schloss Callenberg, Callenberg 1
Telefon +49 (0) 95 61/ 55 15-0
Telefax +49 (0) 95 61/ 55 15-55
Housed in a converted church building, Europe’s only packaging museum features outstanding specimens from the history of packaging. The paclage of the products mirrors the development of our society. The various functions of uses for packaging are presented as well as their historical development.
Hauptstraße 22 (Innenhof)
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 2 13 61
The all year round exhibition located in the first floor of the Christmas town of Käthe Wohlfahrt gives interesting facts about the history of the festival and about the development of the decoration. Among the exhibits are Christmas tree decoration made of glass, cotton wool, cardboard, tragant and wire as well as mangers, Christmas pyramides, light figures, incense smokers and last but not least 150 historical Santa Claus figures.
91535 Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Telefon +49 (0) 98 61/ 40 93 65
The German museum of pewter figures at Plassenburg is the largest in the world - 300,000 individual figures in 150 dioramas portray the history of mankind. Also the biggest diorama of the world is here. The 40 square metre diorama which shows the destruction of Kulmbach with 19.385 figures in 1553 has been taken up in 1998 in the Guiness book of the records.
Diocesan Museum - in the former chapter house by Balthasar Neumann the Diocesan Museum shows the sacred splendour of former centuries. The main attraction is the museum's internationally prominent collection of mediaeval textiles, including the so-called imperial cloak that belonged to Heinrich II and Kunigunde, the Gunther Cloth and Clemens II.'s papal regalia. Additional exhibits include liturgical items such as the 12th century Easter candlestick, a 12th century portable altar, goblets, ostensories, crucifixes and an 18th century silver procession madonna.
The exhibits impressively document the history of how Sinti and Roma were persecuted during the Nazi era. First-hand accounts by survivors and their biographies are the focal point of the permanent exhibition.
Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrum Deutscher Sinti und Roma
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 98 11 02
Documentation Centre Nazi Party Rally Grounds - in the Third Reich Nuremberg was the "City of the Nazi Party Rallies". The north wing of the unfinished Congress Hall on the former Nazi Party Rally grounds, designed by the National Socialists to accommodate 50,000 people, is now occupied by the Documentation Centre Nazi Party Rally Grounds. The permanent exhibition "Fascination and Terror" deals with the causes, contexts and consequences of the National Socialist tyranny within an exhibition space of 1,300 m2. The exhibition continues outside, with large panels providing supplementary information on the history of each venue along the Nazi Party Rally Grounds.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 75 38
E.T.A. Hofmann's House - in 2003 the narrow dwelling house of the author and composer E.T.A. Hoffmann was reshaped in a modern literature museum. He occupied the second floor and loft with the poet's little room which is still furnished as it might have been in Hoffmann's day. The other rooms are filled with information and displays as well as installations on the author's life and work. A loge with scenery designs is reminiscent of Hoffmann's opera "Undine", whilst the interactive truth microscope links in with a motif from the fairytale "Meister Floh" (Master Flea). A mirror cabinet illustrates the artist's diversity.
One of the most powerful castle complexes in Bavaria offers an exhibition space of a journey into medieval times on over 1,500 m². How did the Hohenzollerns govern, sleep and fight in Franconia and Brandenburg 600 years ago? - The exhibition dares to bridge the gap between the Middle Ages and modern times and includes its visitors actively through games, media applications and different stations where you can actually get involved and feel. The rich event calendar ranges from programmes for children over lectures up to medieval cooking classes.
The new experience museum is an enlargement to the Palatinate museum of Forchheim. and let carried away the visitor on a time trip the 16th century. Orchestrations, text boards and radio plays tell from 200 years of fortress history.
Factory Museum of the Leonean Industry - varied products as sieves, uniform effects, Christmas decoration and decorations for ships were made of aureated, silvered or galvanised copper wires. The Leonean Industry was the pre-stage for the cable industry which has developed into an important high tech branch. Because of the successful representation of the manufacturing of leonean goods and related products the Factory Museum was distinguished in 2003 with the Bavarian museum price. Most exhibits are in a functioning state.
Fabrikmuseum der Leonischen Industrie
Obere Mühle 4
Telefon +49 (0) 91 71/ 6 05 64
The branch museum of the Bavarian National Museum rates among the most significant art museum of Upper Franconia. In the South wing of the fortress Rosenberg, erected according to plans of Balthasar Neumann, are presented masterpieces of Franconian painting and sculptures of 1300 up to the first half of the 16th century. Each room is dedicated to sculptures of Tilman Riemenschneider himself or of his workshop and to the works of Lucas Cranach the elder, the most famous son of the city.
The museum is close to house Wahnfried, the house i which Richard Wagner used to live and shows a completion of the documentaion of the most important era in musical scene of Bayreuth. The exhibition orients itself on the life and the work of Franz Liszts who's music accompanies the vistors in the museum.
Memorial site of Friedrich Rückert - the poet and orientalist born in 1788 in Schweinfurt lived up to his death in 1866 in an estate in Neuses near Coburg. The intact study and poetry room is open to the public as a memorial site. The monument in the adjacent Rückert park reminds of the writer which wrote many thousand poems, an unbelievably extensive work of wonderful, crazy, moving, and also lost poems of German literature.
Telefon +49 (0) 95 61/ 66 308
The garden documentary in the south circle building provides information about the origin and development of the palace garden of Schwetzingen.
In the new orangery, an exhibition about the orangery culture and the lapidarium with original sculptures are located.
Market Gardeners' and Wine-Growers Museum - the working life of the market gardeners and wine-growers is revealed at the Market Gardeners' and Wine-Growers Museum. Set in a typical 18th century market gardeners' house, the museum comprises the furnished rooms of the market gardeners, and the flags and staffs of the market gardeners' and wine-growers' guild, which document their religious lives. In the market garden, liquorice is cultivated in keeping with old traditions. Liquorice was an important commodity well into the 18th century.
Since its founding in 1852 the Germanisches Nationalmuseum has advanced to one of the largest museums of culturalhistory in the German-speaking world. A visit to this treasure chest is almost obligatory for any trip to Nuremberg. It offers ever new discoveries, even for those who come more often to stroll through cultural history, starting with the Pre- and Protohistory section and ranging all the way to the present. Particular highlights include works of Albrecht Dürer, Veit Stoß and Rembrandt, the earliest surviving terrestrial globe, the first pocket watch in the world as well as the largest collection of historical musical instrument in Europe.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 1 33 1-0
The museum gives an insight to the oldest parts of the town: fundaments, wall fragments and a painted reconstruction of churchyard with the Geyers tower, school and provost's church in the middle ages.
The Museum in the medieval city centre shows history, art and culture of the former Imperial city Schwäbisch Hall and its surrounding on more than 3000 square meters. It includes over seven connected historical buildings with the Keckenturm, an eight-storey residential tower as the centre and it is based on the collection of the historical society for Württemberg Franconia.
House of City History - Otto Rettenmaier House
The House of City History - Otto Rettenmaier House - is located in the building complex of the Deutschhof. It In the building complex of the Deutschhof. It bears its name in honour of the achievements of the businessman of Heilbronn around the city archive. Under the title "Heilbronn historical! People, places, stories", a multimedia time travel through 1200 years of city history from the first mention up to the becoming a modern big city. Thereby history becomes an experience. Further information (only in German)
Haus der Stadtgeschichte - Otto Rettenmaier Haus
Telefon Tel. 07131 56-2290
Telefax 07131 56-3195
The House of Franconian History - The museum in the 2nd and 3rd floor of Abenberg Castle offers historical experiences for the whole family. The permanent exhibition invites to a time travel through Franconia from the Middle Ages till today. Stagings, light effects and modern media illustrate the historically grown diversity of Franconia. Special exhibitions commit themselves to Franconian art, culture and history.
A rich museum-pedagogical program is offered for kindergartens, school classes and birthdays.
Under the direction of the young Dane Johan Holten, one of Germany’s oldest art societies has set itself the task of discovering international art and putting it on display in the context of current events. The Heidelberg Art Society received the ADKV-Art Cologne Prize in 2009. When presenting the award the Work Group of German Art Societies (Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Kunstvereine) praised the Heidelberg society’s “excellent exhibition practice and program for attracting people to art.”
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 18 40 86
Local Museum at the Grauturm - the museum is located right next to the imposing landmark Grauturm in the Hassberge. The museum is interactive: you are allowed to sit on a school bench from the 40s and to touch things and you do not have to walk on tiptoes. This lovely museum encloses all areas of the existence like habitation, household, craft, agriculture, church, schools and associations. 3.000 butterfly preparations illustrate the variety of European species.
Heimatmuseum am Grauturm
Telefon +49 (0) 9531 4756
The former apartment of Nuremberg's executioner is located directly above the river. Medieval legal and criminal history is presented there. The diary of the most famous executioner of the city, Franz Schmidt, provides a deep insight into the daily life of Nuremberg as an Imperial city around 1600.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 30 73 60
The history vaults with the state dungeon illustrate the overall situation of Rothenburg ob der Tauber during the era of the Thirty Years' War. The entrance hall is suggestive of Rothenburg's defence readiness as a Free Imperial City in the 17th century. A guardroom from 1631, which was located in the six archways of the city, was realistically reproduced. In the dark and gloomy state dungeon, which is situated under the town hall, the inhuman prison conditions of the former times can still be experienced today.
91535 Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Telefon +49 (0) 98 61/ 8 67 51
Historic Rock-Cut Cellars - hidden under the streets of Nuremberg visitors can take a journey back in time: an extensive labyrinth of underground passageways and cellar vaults has existed in the bedrock of the castle hill for centuries - the Historic Rock-Cut Cellars. As early as 1380 red beer was stored in the subterranean cellars, sometimes comprising four levels, that had been cut into the Burgsandstein (local Nuremberg sandstone). During the air raids of World War II many citizens found shelter in these historical vaults. Special offers like the beer tour or "A Walk in the Dark", where daring visitors can get to the bottom of myths and legends equipped only with a torch, increase the attractiveness of the historic Rock-Cut Cellars.
Brauereiladen Bergstraße 19
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 230 55 92
The exhibition of historical garden tools presents tools from the history of gardening. In an extra room an original garden bench from the 18th century and parts of a wood made proscenium of the natural theatre are displayed.
The museum in the Old Court at the Domplatz documents culture and history of Bamberg from prehistory up to the 20th century. Next to the permanent gallery "100 masterworks. From Lucas Cranach over Pieter Breughel to Otto Modersohn" and the exhibition "Culture of the citizen of Bamberg in 19th century" a special exhibition prize-winning from UNESCO "In the river of history. Bambergs lifeline Regnitz" is presented. Additionally there are special exhibitions regularly and during the christmas time there is a crib exhibition.
On account of varied creative projects and join in offers, the museum can be explored quite interactively by which everybody can form his visit individually. Children can even celebrate birthday parties here.
The Historical Museum Bayreuth in the Old Latin School at the church square offers the visitor a wealth of interesting information about the history of Bayreuth. 34 exhibition rooms with 1,200 square meters on three levels deal in detail with all essential aspects of Bayreuth's urban development - from the economy to culture to major politics.
The "Stonehouse" is supposed to have been the bower of the Staufer imperial castle. Today it hosts a museum, which focuses on the history of the imperial palace Wimpfen, the Hohenstaufen and the medieval art of masonry and pottery. Furthermore discoveries from the New Stone Age and the Roman era are shown. The association "Alt Wimpfen" is the funding provider.
Open from April until the middle of October:
Tuesday through Sunday from 10.00 am until 12.00 pm and from 2.00 pm until 4.30 pm.
The museum, with over 23 rail-veterans and numerous road vehicles, presents one of the biggest collections of old traffic vehicles in Germany.
In this exhibition touching and testing is explicitly permitted!
The heart of the museum is the Cabinet of Art and Rarities. The fully functional Late Medieval castle kitchen in its original condition from 1495 serves as an attraction. The collection of arms and armory in the imperial hall, the sacred art, the splendidly furnished knight's hall and the ancient dwellings present the large span of this significant collection.
Hohenlohe-Museum Schloss Neuenstein
Telefon +49 (0) 7942/ 2209 und +49 (0) 7941/ 6099-0
Telefax +49 (0) 7941/ 6099-20
The museum village in the Schwäbisch Hall district of Wackershofen lies nestled in a beautiful hilly landscape. It includes 70 reconstructed buildings from four centuries, which were originally located in different places of the region. The faithfully furnished houses, old breeds of domestic animals, days of action like "cooking in old farmhouse kitchens" as well as craftsmen shows take the visitors back in time.
74523 Schwäbisch Hall
Telefon +49 (0) 7 91/ 97 10 10
The museum, located in a former dwelling of Eva, the daughter of Richard Wagner, deals with the poet Jean Paul who lived from 1804 until his death in 1825 in Bayreuth. The basis of the museum was provided by Dr. Philipp Hausser, who gathered the most important private collection about the life and work of the poet.
The elaborate overall renovation of the Johanniterkirche (a secularized church building from the 12th century) has now been completed. As the associated gallery of Kunsthalle Würth, Johanniterkirche is now the ideal home for the collection of Old Masters within the Würth Collection. Some preserved exhibits of its former equipment could be returned as permanent loans. The phenomenal Family of Wild People by Lucas Cranach the Elder and a whole range of works from his workshop with religious scenes, secular didactic works and portraits have survived. Numerous panel paintings by the Master of Meßkirch or the panels of the highly significant St. Anthony altarpiece by the Zurich Master of the Pansies have to be emphasized as well.
Im Weiler 1
74523 Schwäbisch Hall
Telefon +49 (0) 791/ 946 723-30
Telefax +49 (0) 791/ 946 723-39
The Imperial Castle Museum, an external branch of the Germanic National Museum, located in the Kemenate, presents an exhibition over 300 square meters that pursues the historical role and the changing tasks of the Nuremberg Imperial Castle. The main focus of the exhibition lies on arms and armours, riding equipment and astronomical measurement equipment. But there are also objects for festive or daily occasions that are associated with the Nuremberg Castle. Other rooms of the castle are connected through the weapons collection.
The museum offers guided tours for visitors of any age.
Auf der Kaiserburg
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 13 31-238
The museum of town's history is located in the former administration building of the canning factory of Max Bassermann. It presents the history of Schwetzingen. The main focus lies on the era of the historical Kurpfalz, the golden age of Schwetzingen as the summer residence of the elector, the city's era of Baden and eventually the more modern times with the development of the first industrial companies of the food and delight sector. There are special exhibitions on a regular basis.
Casemates and Water Supply - deep inside the castle bastions, at the level of the moat, is a network of high vaulted passageways known as casements. With their strategically located embrasures and sally-ports, these passages were intended both for defense and for counter-attack. Directly beneath the Tiergärtnertor, a rock-cut stairway connects the sixteenth century fortifications with a medieval system of water-supply conduits, the so-called "Lochwasserleitung". The tunnels(whose locations were a closely guarded secret) served to collect and conduct water. The secret tunnels through the sandstone bedrock were first mentioned in 1459 and were still of use in the 20th century.
Kasematten und Lochwasserleitung
Auf der Kaiserburg
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 30 55 92
Telefax +49 (0) 911 / 2 30 55
Home of the poet Justinus Kerner - the former dwelling of the doctor and poet Kerner is a truly peculiar house. Here he received numerous prominent personalities of his time. On his exactly kept guest list are names like earl Alexander von Württemberg or David Friedrich Strauss. Today in the upper floor visitors can admire the original equipped living rooms of the family which reflect the residential atmosphere of the 19th century. An attraction is the "coffin room" as well as the mind tower in the garden.
Special highlights of the collections from the sacral treasures are the memorial boards of the Dominican monastery, valuable chalices, textiles, books and certificates and also an impressive number of epitaphs from the protestant town church.
Open from April until October:
Tuesday through Sunday from 10.00 am until 12.00 pm and from 2.00 pm until 4.30 pm
The museum presents contemporary art of placards from the whole of Europe from the year 1960 until today. The focus lies on cultural advertisement in the areas of literature, theater, movie and art.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 21/ 82 458
Lace-making was for many centuries the most important line of business in Abenberg. The exhibition shows glorious lace in gold and silver, handmade evening dresses and liturgical robes. It shows the hard conditions of the lace-making women. Additionally there are special exhibitions. Every sunday from 2 pm to 4 pm you can watch a woman making lace.
Manheim Art Gallery - Max Liebermann, Paul Cézanne, Wilhelm Lehmbruck, Otto Dix, Constantin Brâncusi, Edvard Munch, Auguste Rodin, Vincent van Gogh, Édouard Manet, Alberto Giacometti - and many other greats from art history are collected in the Mannheim Art Gallery "Kunsthalle Mannheim". In addition to the internationally renowned collection of paintings and sculptures from the 19th and 20th centuries, visitors can also admire the stars of contemporary art from all over the world in the internationally respected art museum.
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 2 93 64 52
In the exhibition hall of the municipal museums of Heilbronn and the art association, which was designed by the Zurich architect Felipe Rodriguéz, these two traditional institutions have mergend in one location. Changing exhibitions are to be seen on three floors with over 800 m² space. The Art Gallery Vogelmann is also regularly stage of a varied programme with guided tours, artist talks as well as workshops.
The private museum was founded by the entrepreneur Reinhold Würth. It shows changing exhibitions from the collection Würth, whose basis he laid in the 1960s. It includes today about 12.500 works of art. Large exhibitions of major artists are presented as well as exciting theme-based exhibitions. The impressive building was constructed by the Danish architect Henning Larsen. In their branch at the Johanniterhalle, the art gallery Würth shows "Old masters of the collection Würth".
The museum in the old town hall Bayreuth accommodates different trusts and collections which concentrate on print grafical works of the 20th century. In temporary exhibits there are presented comprehensive inventories of different topics.
Art Collection of the Veste Coburg - the Veste Coburg is one of the biggest castle buildings of Germany and accommodated guests like the reformer Luther who worked here for his Bible translation. Today the castle contains one of the most important art- and cultural-historical collections of Germany with exhibits of the highest quality. Among the rest, the museum encloses the Hall of Hunting Weapons and a Glass Collection as well as a Hall of Coaches and Sledgescarriage. The Art of the German Renaissance with paintings of Lucas Cranach, Dürer or Holbein is also to be seen among the artworks.
Presentation of contemporary, young art, preferably from the entire German-speaking area, complemented through exhibitions of international art
Augusta-Anlage 58 / Carl-Reiss-Platz
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 40 22 08
Palatinate Museum - The museum's collections of art and cultural history are located in the Palais Morass built in 1712. The museum's attractions include portraits of the Prince Electors, an outstanding collection of coins, and the famous collection of Frankenthal porcelain. The pride of the museum's gallery of sculptures and paintings (15th-20th century) is Tilman Riemenschneider's "Windsheim Altar" dated 1509, depicting the Twelve Apostles. Another focal point of the museum is the documentation of Heidelberg's history.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 58 34 020
"Upper Main Landscape Museum" - Numerous memorabilia and presentations lead through the west wing of Plassenburg Castle. The museum of rural life pursues artistically and culturally significant exhibits from the Upper Main region. Among its great treasures are the famous "Pörbitscher Schatz", burial mounds or the museum of spices. With computers, acustic images and videostagings the museum is particularly lively designed.
In the upper floor of the "House of Guests", former forestry office, the collection of barkeeper Carl Langbein (1816 - 1881) is presented. In the middle of the 19th century, he started to collect natural produces and antiques. The collection includes among others objects of the Hirschhorn Carmelite monastery, which was dissolved in 1803. For example parts of the monastery library.
As Guinessbook of records the most comprehensive beer-museum of the world is located in the historical head office of brewery Brothers Maisel. It is built in brick-lined style of the period of promoterism. Next to the completely conserved brewery with its historical brewing machine at original places belongs to the living museum also collections of rare enamle signs, beer glases and beer coasters.
The museum shows the history of the town and the princedom Ansbach. The collections in a building of 14th to 18th century comprehends creations of the court painter of Ansbach and a coins- and medal hall. On ground floor Kasper-Hauser-departement applies th the "foundling of Europe" who was killed in 1833.
The private museum of the collector Kurt Kreipl is located in the district Cappel. It outlines, based on 1800 exhibits, the most beautiful shell- and snail species from all oceans. The focus lies on helmsnails, winged snails and carrier snails.
Memorium Nuremberg Trials - in the criminal court of the Nuremberg Palace of Justice world history was written: On November 20, 1945 the trial against the "main war criminals" began in the criminal court, "Courtroom 600". 21 leading representatives of the National Socialist regime were made to answer for their crimes against peace and humanity. More than 60 years after the trials a permanent exhibition has been opened at the original site to provide relevant information on the background, proceedings and consequences. Historic sound and film footage convey a vivid impression of the trials. The significance of the trials for the development of modern international criminal law made "Courtroom 600" world famous. Guided tours inform about the historical court place and the "Nuremberg processes". The courtroom is also used even today for hearings.
Medieval Dungeons - the dungeons are found in the cellar vaults of the Old Town Hall. They were set up in the 14th century to serve as cells for prisoners awaiting trial or in custody until their execution. The dungeons were used by the city of Nuremberg in the Middle Ages as a remand prison. The floor, ceilings and walls are lined with wooden panels. They were furnished with a bed, bench, a board as a table and a heating basin in the window. Certain offenders, such as arsonists or slanderers, were kept in the dungeons in specially marked cells. The torture chamber, the so called "chapel",was used to extract confessions. The method of torture was decided by the municipal court, which met in the large room of the old town hall.
Various items of legal history from the entire German-speaking area are presented on 2500 square meters and four floors. They illustrate the legal development from the late Middle Ages up to the 19th century. Instruments of torture and equipment for corporal punishment are shown as well as tools for the execution of outrage and public humiliation. Furthermore, the exhibition includes certificates, books, graphics and seals.
91535 Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Telefon +49 (0) 98 61/ 53 59
"The Hohenzollerns in Franconia" Museum in the magnificent residential rooms of the 16th-century castle gives an impression of the life of princes in the baroque age. It traces the progress of the Hohenzollerns from the Middle Ages, via the two margraviates from the 17th and 18th centuries to Prussian dominance and the endeavours of the Prussian kings to preserve the Franconian monuments of their family.The museum was set up together with the "Haus der Bayerischen Geschichte" and the State Collections of Bavaria.
The Nature around Eberbach with the river Neckar, a huge forest and the new red sandstone mountains of the Odenwald determined the life and work of the citizens for centuries. Center of the museum,located in the historical town hall, is "River Neckar as lifeline and arterial highway", "Forest and Humans" and "Geology und use of the stone". Changing exhibitions. Entrance free.
Museum der Stadt Eberbach
Telefon +49 (0) 62 71/ 16 64
Telefax +49 (0) 62 71/ 80 78 82
The scientific collection presents rock formations typical for Heidelberg and the surrounding area. The most prominent exhibit at the museum is the lower jaw of homo erectus heidelbergensis. Discovered near Heidelberg in Mauer, Germany in 1907, the “Heidelberg Man” find was long considered the oldest human fossil in Europe.
Museum für Geologie und Paläontologie
Im Neuenheimer Feld 235
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 54 60 47
The Communications Museum focuses on people and the way they communicate - from the first cry of the newborn baby to the chat room. The exhibition is divided up into four areas of communication: sound, images and writing as well as communication via the Internet. Over 400 objects, including historic postal vehicles from the 1950s and 1960s, as well as many media stations make the contents come alive. Interactive elements invite children and adults to communicate, whether in the writing workshop, at the pneumatic postal tubes or as the moderator in a TV studio. The architecture is an essential element of the exhibition design, individually matched to each room's theme. Changing exhibitions on the most diverse aspects of the topic of communications supplement the program.
Museum für Kommunikation
im Verkehrsmuseum Nürnberg, Lessingstraße 6
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 23 08 80
The museum specializes in ecclesiastical art from the 17th to 19th century. The permanent exhibition documents the work of the Jesuits in the Palatinate. A special attraction is a large silver Madonna by Johann Ignaz Saller (1736).
Museum für sakrale Kunst und Liturgie
Merianstraße 1 (Jesuitenkirche)
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 16 63 91
This mansion in the Old Town holds a unique collection of “20th-century Primitive Art” featuring so-called primitive works by amateur artists. A visit to the “Haus Cajeth” is handled as an insider tip and is highly recommended. The adjoining bookshop has a wide selection of books as well as regular exhibitions of works by promising artists still to be heard from.
Museum Haus Cajeth
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 2 44 66
Museum of historical iron hammer in Eckersmühlen - this industrial-historical jewel still produced until 1974. Now it's a "living museum" in which the guests are shown the art of working in a hammer mill very closely. The iron hammer was in the possession of the family Schäff more than five generations, a far branched hammer smith's dynasty. Next to furnishings also exhibits of the historian archeologist Schäff are exhibited in the mansion. In the saw mill an exhibition shows the way „from the ore to the iron“.
Additionally there are guided tours and course offers for children and adults.
Museum Historischer Eisenhammer Eckersmühlen
zwischen Roth und Eckersmühlen
Telefon +49 (0) 91 71/ 8 13 29
The permanent exhibition presents the aspects of the town history, the focus lies on the presentation of the development of the Neckar shipping and its significance for the history of Neckargemünd. This is supplemented by a folkloric and art-historical section as well as special exhibitions.
Museum im Alten Rathaus
Telefon +49 (0) 62 23/ 488-240
Telefax +49 (0) 62 23/ 488-264
General Information on the Museum for Industrial Culture - The museum comprises almost 6,000 square metres and is located in the hall of a former screw factory, which was part of the Julius Tafel iron works, established in 1876 and closed down in 1975. Along the so-called Museum Street, exhibits are grouped in ensembles in the historic factory building, focusing mainly on the history of industrialisation, using Nuremberg as an example. Affiliated specialist museums provide a particular additional attraction, including the Nuremberg Motorcycle Museum, the School Museum with its historic classroom, and the "Fun Learning Lab" for hands-on fun and experiments.
Museum Industriekultur und Schulmuseum
Äußere Sulzbacher Straße 62
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 36 48
Castle Ratibor with Municipal Museum - Castle Ratibor is a hunting lodge from 1537. On the first floor is the magnificent dining and large ceremonial room which are reports of the impressive life style. The rooms of the castle accommodate an exciting collection of the history of the castle and of the town. The „good parlour" permits a look behind the facades of the middle-class houses. The museum shows also a toy collection and potter ceramic collection. Furthermore, there are regular special exhibitions.
Tucher Mansion Museum and the Hirsvogel Hall - the domestic world of a prominent 16th century merchant family comes to life again in the Tucher Mansion Museum. The private collection of the Tucher patrician family includes valuable furniture, tapestries, paintings and fine works of the decorative arts. The picturesque Renaissance garden invites you to picnic there on Sundays and offers a splendid view of the magnificent Hirsvogel Hall (originally built 1534, destroyed 1945, reconstructed 2000). Every Sunday, an actress assumes the role of the former lady of the house, Katharina Tucher, and gives a tour of the mansion, completed in 1544, and the Hirsvogel Hall and entices you to explore the historical secrets of the Tucher Mansion.
Museum Tucherschloss mit Hirsvogelsaal
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 54 21
The locksmith's shop Pflaumer, founded in 1882, was closed after the death of Emil Pflaumer, who was working in the third generation. Today the workshop, whose furnishing remained unchanged over decades, gives an insight into old traditions and developments. Further Information
Museum of Wolfram von Eschenbach - Wolfram Eschenbach is one of the most important writers and epic poets of the Middle Ages and the poet of the prominent epic "Parzival". There is not much preserved from his life and since 1989 it has been considered to establish a museum for the emponym of the town. The result is a multimedial museum. Considering architecture, colours and forms the museum brings literature close to the visitor and makes one feel like going through a piece of artwork. Furthermore, the museum offers guided tours with an audioguide.
The Museum Ship - On the banks of the Neckar between the town centre and the port, a historic Rhine steamer lies at anchor - the Museum Ship. Built in 1929, the sidewheeler is today both a museum and a museum piece in itself. On board, the history of travel by boat on the Rhine and Neckar is brought to life. Interesting insights into salvage dives, the galley and the engine room await the visitor. Younger guests on board can learn the art of knots, experiment with the natural environment of the Neckar under the microscope and can also have a go at being captain.
auf dem Neckar unterhalb der Kurpfalzbrücke
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 4 29 89
The Natural History Museum Coburg is located on the premises of the court garden. With 700,000 collection units and an exhibition of 2,400 square metres it has the rating of a national museum. The exhibitions show among other things minerals, fossils, home animals and plants, prehistoric men and ethnology. All subject areas are illustrated with big pictures and models, e.g. a replica of an African hut, or of a the mineral tunnel for children.
The New Museum for Art and Design with its curved glass facade rises over the medieval city walls in the heart of Nuremberg. The art collection contains painting, sculpture and photography from 1945 to the present. Its main focus includes Eastern European artists, international works of geometric abstraction and concrete art. In the area of design there is a cooperation with the New Collection - The International Design Museum Munich- one of the internationally leading museums for 20th century applied art. The collection displays selected examples of international design from its holdings. Several exhibitions a year, continually changing presentations of the collections and a wide range of tours and events offer a diversity of inspiration and invite visitors to join in the communication process.
Neues Museum - Staatliches Museum für Kunst und Design
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 24 02 00
By means of the multimedia star show of the planatarium visitors discover interesting facts about stars, fog and galaxies. Furthermore, there are special programs for children older than 4.
Wilhelm-Varnholt-Allee 1 (Europaplatz)
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 41 56 92
Over 2000 exhibits, compiled from the collector couple Carin & Dr. Hans Lossnitzer, presented in thirty rooms over two floors: dolls, doll's houses, doll's pram and antique toys from 1800 to 1960.
President Friedrich Ebert Memorial - The memorial reminds of Friedrich Ebert, born in 1871, who was the first president of the Weimar Republic. The house where he was born, which is open to the public, tells the story about the turbulent life of the tailor's son and forms the memorial's core. The permanent exhibition: "The life and Times of Friedrich Ebert" transmits a lively picture of his life with the aid of photos, objects and medial installations. It also gives insight to the era of the German Empire and Weimar Republic.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 9 10 70
The museum shows the development of Wimpfen from the fall of the Staufers up to the loss of the imperial immediacy and until the move to Hesse in 1803: the territory of the Imperial City, the relationship to emperor and empire, municipal law, defence, jurisdiction, handicraft and trade, the Jewish community, saline. Collections regarding the history of hospitals, the battle by Wimpfen in 1622 and also technology and forms of half-timbered building.
Open daily from 10.00 am until 12.00 pm and from 2.00 pm until 5.00 pm
In the medieval Dominican monastery art and culture of the former Imperial city Rothenburg are presented. Highlights are the still preserved kitchen of the monastery from the 13th century as well as the boards of the "Rothenburger passion" from 1494. The focus of attention is the foundation Baumann with its valuable weapens - for example the duelling pistole of prince Klemenz of Metternich and the hunting rifle of Frederick the Great - fayence and tin.
91535 Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Telefon +49 (0) 98 61/ 93 90 43
The Reiss-Engelhorn-Museums - this interesting museum complex, known as "rem" for short, includes the Armoury, World Cultures and "Schillerhaus museums", the Forum for International Photography and the "Zephyr Gallery". As one of the most renowned exhibition houses in Europe, its 12.600m² and 1.2 million objects offer a unique and impressive range. International exhibitions, symposiums, concerts and museum-based educational campaigns entice visitors from all over.
D5 und Zeughaus in C5
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 29 3-31 50
After five years of construction the Wahnfried House, Richard Wagner's Bayreuth home, as well as the Richard Wagner Museum are accessible to the public again. On 26th July 2015 the Richard Wagner Stiftung as well as the city of Bayreuth opened their new and most important museum. The Wahnfried House and the museum present themselves with an extension building and three thematically different permanent exhibitions.
Richard Wagner Museum
Telefon +49 (0) 921/ 75 72 816
The Roman Estate with bath ruin - one of the best preserved Roman constructions was discovered by big chance. With the plant of a tree in 1906 one exposed the floor plan of a Roman bath arrangement at the foot of the castle Weibertreu. Other excavations brought out parts of a Roman dwelling house. This was the proof that the arrangement had no military function but purely civil purposes. The city of Weinsberg restored the arrangement and opened it to the public.
This internationally unique collection features the artistic works of patients at psychiatric asylums from around 1900. The works were collected by Hans Prinzhorn, physician and art historian. The collection includes about 5000 pieces of art, majoritarian pencil and crayon drawings as well as paintings with watercolour or oil, fabrics and wood sculptures.
Voßstraße 2 (Alt-Klinikum)
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 56 44 92
In the former Latin school, a baroque building from 1748, there has been a museum since 1972/73. It includes museum pieces from foundations of Theodor Sandel and further founders. After renovation, it was reopened with a new design in 2004. There are changing exhibitions and geology and palaentology in the basement. The museum received the Museum Price from the state government.
74592 Kirchberg an der Jagst
Telefon +49 (0) 79 54 /92 18 42
Neunhof Palace, one of the best preserved mansions of the Nuremberg region, is an external branch of the Germanic National Museum. The patrician country house with its rare original interior of the 16th and 19th century has a magnificient kitchen. A preserved original of Nuremberg's organ building of the 17th century can be seen at the baroque chapel.
Neunhof Palace is closed since 2016 due to remediation work.
Neunhofer Schlossplatz 2
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 13 31-0
The Museum of Transilvania at Horneck Castle introduces the visitors in the legendary area of the novel figure "Dracula". The essential duties of the State Museum are protection, preservation and documentation of the cultural asset of the German ethnic groups in Transylvania / Romania. It illustrates the interaction of the different ethnic groups there.The museum is an intercultural meeting place with experience character and offers beside the permanent exhibition also interesting special exhibitions.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 69/ 42 23-0
Telefax +49 (0) 62 69/ 42 23-23
The museum "seals from thousands of years" is located in the gate wing of the palace. There are about 800 seals from the collection of Friedrich Karl I., prince of Hohenlohe-Waldenburg (1814-1884), who was a Russian lieutenant general and founer of the scientific seal apprenticeship. In the "lower archive" there is a coin collection with coins and medals of the house of Hohenlohe. Pewter figure dioramas with scenes from the life of important Hohenlohe lords with their seals and well illustrated display panels augment the collections.
Telefon +49 (0) 79 42/ 104-22
There are 17 large, free-standing sculptures by important 20th and 21st century German and international artists in the small English garden of Heidelberg University Hospital’s Orthopedics Department. Temporary exhibitions are regularly shown in addition to the garden sculptures.
Schlierbacher Landstraße 200a, Heidelberg-Schlierbach
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 38 02 101
Toy Museum - ever since the Middle Ages Nuremberg has been a city of toys. Today, the world-famous Toy Museum with its wealth of exceptional exhibits breathes new life into this great historic tradition over 1,400 square meters of exhibition space. Visitors are greeted by wooden toys on the ground floor. Dolls, exquisite doll houses and optical gadgetry on the first floor provide an insight into the lifeworld of past centuries. The worldwide most important collection of Lehmann tin toys is the focus of a museum section depicting the history of the company. Cars, trains and steam engines are testimony to the outstanding role the Nuremberg toy manufacturer played in the area of technology. In an imaginative children's area under trained supervision little visitors can play to their heart's content. Furthermore, there are multilingual audioguides with special tours for children. With "Kids in top" it is also possible to celebrate birthdays in the museum.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 31 64
The museum is located in the historical townhall, directly in the inner city. It accommodates the historical collection of the city from the archaeological findings of the region of the New Stone Age, the Celtic and Roman era, the evidence of the former free imperial city up to the focal point: the democracy and liberation movement in 1848/ 49 and emigration to the USA. The history of the former Staufer city Sinsheim is sophisticatedly presented on 800 square metres in 3 houses.
The Municipal Museum in the Deutschhof culture centre, which puts on top-class permanent and temporary exhibitions, also offers impressive guided tours and workshops. The archaeological collection of the Celts, Romans and Alemanns up to the Franconians in the Middle Ages is an intersesting time trip. The museum also shows the art and sculpture collection of Henry Moore, Auguste Rodin and Carl Doerr. In this family- friendly museum you can celebrate birthdays and there are also special exhibitions and lectures.
Städtische Museen im Deutschhof
Telefon +49 (0) 71 31/ 56 31 44
Fembo House City Museum - The Fembo House with its magnificent front and interior illustrates the late renaissance. The Merchant's House, Patrician's Palatial Residence, Map Publishers, Museum - the Fembo House built between 1591 and 1596 at the foot of the Imperial Castle is many-faceted. The entertaining journey through time begins in the 4th upper story with the large wooden model of the Old Town. Visitors then pass through 26 rooms of the house and discover the diverse, ever more intriguing development of a large town. The highlight is the elaborate multivision show “Noricama”, which presents the history of Nuremberg in a colorful audio-visual dramatization. The exhibition forum with its changing presentations is the showcase for Nuremberg's history, art and culture.
Telefon +49 (0) 911 / 2 31 25 95
Telefax +49 (0) 911 / 2 31-25 96
Stiftung der Herzog von Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha´schen Familie Herzoglicher Kunstbesitz SCG Schloss Callenberg
Telefon Telefon +49 (0) 95 61/ 55 15-0
Telefax Telefax +49 (0) 95 61/ 55 15-55
From 1778 to 1914 students were put in the university lockup for “minor infractions" like nocturnal disturbance. Many passed the time in confinement by carving drawings and sayings into the detention room walls. These “works of art” can be seen to this very day.
Alte Universität, Augustinergasse 2
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 54 35 54
Experimentation is desired! The TECHNOSEUM invites visitors to travel back in time through the industrialisation of South-west Germany. More than 16 stations in the working museum allow to experience the technical and social changes of the last 250 years at touching distance. The workshops, machines and equipment on display invite to touch, experiment with and be amazed by how technical innovations changed and continue to change peoples living and working conditions.
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 4 29 89
Founded by Heidelberg manufacturer Max Berk, the Textile Collection is housed in the former Lutheran church in the Ziegelhausen district of Heidelberg. The collection includes women’s attire, antique patchwork quilts from England and the US, as well as textile garments from India, Bali, and South America. Moreover, the regular special exhibitons, for example the European Quilt-Triennale, serve as attractions.
Textilmuseum Max Berk
Brahmsstraße 8, Heidelberg-Ziegelhausen
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 80 03 17
The "smallest science centre of the world" is an interactive hands-on museum located in the "Mohrenturm", a historic tower in Nuremberg's city wall. Visitors experience scientific phenomena of the human perception, fascinating achievements as well as astonishing illusions.
Turm der Sinne
im Mohrenturm, Spittlertormauer 17
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 9 44 32 81
The University Library stands out with its red sandstone façade adorned with various figures and scenes. Busts of famous scholars are on display on the stairway landings. There is also a regular schedule of temporary exhibitions for visitors. The library’s “Codex Manesse,” a world-famous collection of songs once part of the “Bibliotheca Palatina” holdings, draws many visitors.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 54 23 80
Pictures and exhibits in the museum’s three rooms depict the history of the University. Now-famous alumni once defended their dissertation theses in the Old Hall. Today the Old Hall serves as Heidelberg University’s main banquet hall. Visitors can piece together the history of Germany’s oldest university by viewing paintings on the walls and ceilings.
Alte Universität, Grabengasse 1
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/54 35 93
The collections in the Palais Weimar encompass works of art and ethnographic artifacts from Asia, Africa, and Oceania. Temporary exhibits regularly present art and culture from various regions of the world.
Völkerkundemuseum (Palais Weimar)
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 2 20 67
Gößweinstein is the most important place of pilgrimage to Most Holy Trinity in Germany and comes with more than 100 life-sized human wax figures. The modern museum, opened in 2008, dedicates to pilgrimage and devoutness history of the village.
Museum Weibertreu - in 1140 the German King Konrad III forced the Castle Weinsberg to the capitulation and in this time a unique history occurred. He permitted free deduction to women and children and allowed the women to take so much of her having as they could carry. To his surprise the loyal women carried her men on the back from the castle what the king generously granted, because one may not break a king's word. The exhibits attend to this happening also to the bloody Easter in 1525 and to the history of castle and town.
The museum, donated by August Weygang (1859-1946) from Öhringen, presents an important tin- and fayencecollection as well as furniture of the founders, which give insight to the domestic culture of the middle- and upperclass of Öhringen during the 19th and 20th century.
In the vault cellar and in the special "limes- container" in the garden, there is a section for the findings from the Roman era.
The activities of the Weygang museum, for example the traditional rabbit casting before Easter, aim especially at children. Further information
XYLON museum and "werkstätten e.V." is a centre for visual art with the focus on relief printing. On the 15.January 1987 artist and graphic designer Otto Mindhoff founded XYLON as a place of lively art education as well as intense artistic work. XYLON is located in the northern section of the palace garden Schwetzingen opposite the orangery.
XYLON museum is strongly associated with XYLON international, which is represented in Europe, USA, Asia and Australia.
XYLON museum encourages modern and contemporary relief printing and, thus, feels connected to significant woodcutters of the 20th century.
Kronenstraße 17 / Schlossgarten 2
Telefon +49 (0) 62 02/ 85 93 9 31
The University of Heidelberg’s Zoology Museum offers exhibits on animal geography as well as the theory of systematics and comparative anatomy. Further areas are tribal history, the evolutionary history of humankind and the protection of species.
Im Neuenheimer Feld 230
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 54 55 56