Albrecht Dürer's House, which has recently been restored, presents the living and working quarters of one of the most famous painters and graphicartists in art history, namely Albrecht Dürer (1471-1528), in a new concept. Valuable copies of Dürer's paintings will be presented in the newly created "Dürer Hall". In the Cabinet of Prints and Drawings special exhibitions will display treasures from the large number of holdings in the graphics collection of the Nuremberg Museum. And finally, Agnes Dürer, his wife, takes you through the master's house via an audioguide in several languages and even personally in special tours.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 25 68
Founded in 1882, today's DB Museum is the oldest railway museum in the world. A 6,600 square metre exhibition tells the story of railways in Germany.
The original vehicles are a magnet for the public. Around 40 rail legends await visitors in two halls. In addition, there is a 15,000 square metre outdoor area and a show depot with treasures from the museum's collections. The modelarium shows over 2000 models, from historic vehicles on a scale of 1:5 to a miniature 1:700 locomotive. The famous Adler locomotive is also revived as a digital model.
Younger visitors should not miss the Children's Railway Land, KIBALA for short. Everything that makes children's hearts beat faster can be found there: Numerous interactive stations and the KIBALA Express invite children to play and learn.
Documentation Centre Nazi Party Rally Grounds - in the Third Reich Nuremberg was the "City of the Nazi Party Rallies". The north wing of the unfinished Congress Hall on the former Nazi Party Rally grounds, designed by the National Socialists to accommodate 50,000 people, is now occupied by the Documentation Centre Nazi Party Rally Grounds. The permanent exhibition "Fascination and Terror" deals with the causes, contexts and consequences of the National Socialist tyranny within an exhibition space of 1,300 m2. The exhibition continues outside, with large panels providing supplementary information on the history of each venue along the Nazi Party Rally Grounds.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 75 38
Since its founding in 1852 the Germanisches Nationalmuseum has advanced to one of the largest museums of culturalhistory in the German-speaking world. A visit to this treasure chest is almost obligatory for any trip to Nuremberg. It offers ever new discoveries, even for those who come more often to stroll through cultural history, starting with the Pre- and Protohistory section and ranging all the way to the present. Particular highlights include works of Albrecht Dürer, Veit Stoß and Rembrandt, the earliest surviving terrestrial globe, the first pocket watch in the world as well as the largest collection of historical musical instrument in Europe.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 1 33 1-0
The former apartment of Nuremberg's executioner is located directly above the river. Medieval legal and criminal history is presented there. The diary of the most famous executioner of the city, Franz Schmidt, provides a deep insight into the daily life of Nuremberg as an Imperial city around 1600.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 30 73 60
Historic Rock-Cut Cellars - hidden under the streets of Nuremberg, visitors can take a journey back in time: an extensive labyrinth of underground passageways and cellar vaults has existed in the bedrock of the castle hill for centuries - the Historic Rock-Cut Cellars. As early as 1380 red beer was stored in the subterranean cellars, sometimes comprising four levels that had been cut into the Burgsandstein (local Nuremberg sandstone). During the air raids of World War II many citizens found shelter in these historical vaults. Special offers like the beer tour or "A Walk in the Dark", where daring visitors can get to the bottom of myths and legends equipped only with a torch, increase the attractiveness of the historic Rock-Cut Cellars.
Brauereiladen Bergstraße 19
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 230 55 92
"art bunker" for movable art treasures of Nuremberg in the era of the Second World War including preserved original installations
Obere Schmiedgasse 52
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 30 55 92
The Imperial Castle Museum, an external branch of the Germanic National Museum, located in the Kemenate, presents an exhibition over 300 square meters that pursues the historical role and the changing tasks of the Nuremberg Imperial Castle. The main focus of the exhibition lies on arms and armours, riding equipment and astronomical measurement equipment. But there are also objects for festive or daily occasions that are associated with the Nuremberg Castle. Other rooms of the castle are connected through the weapons collection.
The museum offers guided tours for visitors of any age.
Auf der Kaiserburg
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 13 31-238
Casemates and Water Supply - deep inside the castle bastions, at the level of the moat, is a network of high vaulted passageways known as casements. With their strategically located embrasures and sally-ports, these passages were intended both for defense and for counter-attack. Directly beneath the Tiergärtnertor, a rock-cut stairway connects the sixteenth century fortifications with a medieval system of water-supply conduits, the so-called "Lochwasserleitung". The tunnels(whose locations were a closely guarded secret) served to collect and conduct water. The secret tunnels through the sandstone bedrock were first mentioned in 1459 and were still of use in the 20th century.
Kasematten und Lochwasserleitung
Auf der Kaiserburg
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 30 55 92
Telefax +49 (0) 911 / 2 30 55
Memorium Nuremberg Trials - in the criminal court of the Nuremberg Palace of Justice world history was written: On November 20, 1945 the trial against the "main war criminals" began in the criminal court, "Courtroom 600". 21 leading representatives of the National Socialist regime were made to answer for their crimes against peace and humanity. More than 60 years after the trials a permanent exhibition has been opened at the original site to provide relevant information on the background, proceedings and consequences. Historic sound and film footage convey a vivid impression of the trials. The significance of the trials for the development of modern international criminal law made "Courtroom 600" world famous. Guided tours inform about the historical court place and the "Nuremberg processes". The courtroom is also used - even today - for hearings.
Medieval Dungeons - the dungeons are found in the cellar vaults of the Old Town Hall. They were set up in the 14th century to serve as cells for prisoners awaiting trial or in custody until their execution. The dungeons were used by the city of Nuremberg in the Middle Ages as a remand prison. The floor, ceilings and walls are lined with wooden panels. They were furnished with a bed, bench, a board as a table and a heating basin in the window. Certain offenders, such as arsonists or slanderers, were kept in the dungeons in specially marked cells. The torture chamber, the so called "chapel",was used to extract confessions. The method of torture was decided by the municipal court, which met in the large room of the old town hall.
The Communications Museum focuses on people and the way they communicate - from the first cry of the newborn baby to the chat room. The exhibition is divided up into four areas of communication: sound, images and writing as well as communication via the Internet. Over 400 objects, including historic postal vehicles from the 1950s and 1960s, as well as many media stations make the contents come alive. Interactive elements invite children and adults to communicate, whether in the writing workshop, at the pneumatic postal tubes or as the moderator in a TV studio. The architecture is an essential element of the exhibition design, individually matched to each room's theme. Changing exhibitions on the most diverse aspects of the topic of communications supplement the program.
Museum für Kommunikation
im Verkehrsmuseum Nürnberg, Lessingstraße 6
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 23 08 80
The Museum of Industrial Culture and the School Museum in Nuremberg are particularly recommended for classic car enthusiasts. The museum comprises almost 6,000 square metres and is located in the hall of a former screw factory, which was part of the Julius Tafel iron works, established in 1876 and closed down in 1975. Along the so-called Museum Street, exhibits are grouped in ensembles in the historic factory building, focusing mainly on the history of industrialisation, using Nuremberg as an example. Affiliated specialist museums provide a particular additional attraction, including the Nuremberg Motorcycle Museum, the School Museum with its historic classroom, and the "Fun Learning Lab" for hands-on fun and experiments.
Museum Industriekultur und Schulmuseum
Äußere Sulzbacher Straße 62
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 36 48
Tucher Mansion Museum and the Hirsvogel Hall - the domestic world of a prominent 16th century merchant family comes to life again in the Tucher Mansion Museum. The private collection of the Tucher patrician family includes valuable furniture, tapestries, paintings and fine works of the decorative arts. The picturesque Renaissance garden invites you to picnic there on Sundays and offers a splendid view of the magnificent Hirsvogel Hall (originally built 1534, destroyed 1945, reconstructed 2000). Every Sunday, an actress assumes the role of the former lady of the house, Katharina Tucher, and gives a tour of the mansion, completed in 1544, and the Hirsvogel Hall and entices you to explore the historical secrets of the Tucher Mansion.
Museum Tucherschloss mit Hirsvogelsaal
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 54 21
The New Museum for Art and Design with its curved glass facade rises over the medieval city walls in the heart of Nuremberg. The art collection contains paintings, sculptures and photography from 1945 to the present. Its main focus includes Eastern European artists, international works of geometric abstraction and concrete art. In the area of design, there is a cooperation with the New Collection - The International Design Museum Munich - one of the internationally leading museums for 20th century applied art. The collection displays selected examples of international design from its holdings. Several exhibitions a year, continually changing presentations of the collections and a wide range of tours and events offer a diversity of inspiration and invite visitors to join in the communication process.
Neues Museum - Staatliches Museum für Kunst und Design
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 24 02 00
Neunhof Palace, one of the best preserved mansions of the Nuremberg region, is an external branch of the Germanic National Museum. The patrician country house with its rare original interior of the 16th and 19th century has a magnificient kitchen. A preserved original of Nuremberg's organ building of the 17th century can be seen at the baroque chapel.
Neunhof Palace is closed since 2016 due to remediation work.
Neunhofer Schlossplatz 2
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 13 31-0
Toy Museum - ever since the Middle Ages Nuremberg has been a city of toys. Today, the world-famous Toy Museum with its wealth of exceptional exhibits breathes new life into this great historic tradition over 1,400 square meters of exhibition space. Visitors are greeted by wooden toys on the ground floor. Dolls, exquisite doll houses and optical gadgetry on the first floor provide an insight into the lifeworld of past centuries. The worldwide most important collection of Lehmann tin toys is the focus of a museum section depicting the history of the company. Cars, trains and steam engines are testimony to the outstanding role the Nuremberg toy manufacturer played in the area of technology. In an imaginative children's area under trained supervision little visitors can play to their heart's content. Furthermore, there are multilingual audioguides with special tours for children. With "Kids in top" it is also possible to celebrate birthdays in the museum.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 31 64
Fembo House City Museum - The Fembo House with its magnificent front and interior illustrates the late renaissance. The Merchant's House, Patrician's Palatial Residence, Map Publishers, Museum - the Fembo House built between 1591 and 1596 at the foot of the Imperial Castle is many-faceted. The entertaining journey through time begins in the 4th upper story with the large wooden model of the Old Town. Visitors then pass through 26 rooms of the house and discover the diverse, ever more intriguing development of a large town. The highlight is the elaborate multivision show “Noricama”, which presents the history of Nuremberg in a colorful audio-visual dramatization. The exhibition forum with its changing presentations is the showcase for Nuremberg's history, art and culture.
Telefon +49 (0) 911 / 2 31 25 95
Telefax +49 (0) 911 / 2 31-25 96
The "smallest science centre of the world" is an interactive hands-on museum located in the "Mohrenturm", a historic tower in Nuremberg's city wall. Visitors experience scientific phenomena of the human perception, fascinating achievements as well as astonishing illusions.
Turm der Sinne
im Mohrenturm, Spittlertormauer 17
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 9 44 32 81