Sesslach the "Rothenburg of Upper Franconia" is a gem of the Coburg region with its medieval town centre, the almost completely intact town wall and three watchtowers. It is first recorded in 837 and in 1120 fell to the Bishopric of Würzburg, from whose sovereignty it often tried to break free. So the area was destroyed in 1244 in a battle between Duke Otto VIII of Merania and the Bishopric of Würzburg.
In 1335 Emperor Ludwig of Bavaria bestowed the rights to build a town and fortifications on the region. In renewed opposition to the Bishopric of Würzburg, Sesslach decided to try to attain imperial immediacy in 1399 by joining the Federation of Eleven Towns, which was however shattered at the Battle of Bergtheim in 1400. The struggle for more independence in the Peasants' War of 1525 also ended tragically for the town, as the Bishop of Würzburg beheaded five ringleaders in the marketplace. In 1632 the town was devastated in the Thirty Years’ War (1618-1648).
In 1810 Sesslach fell to the Kingdom of Bavaria. Even today, alongside the numerous residential and commercial buildings of the 16th to 18th centuries the picturesque image of the town is still dominated by the official episcopal buildings. The main attractions are the local museum and the nature conservation centre, but also the old town festival, flea markets and a charming Christmas market.
Sesslach houses a communal brewery in the Pfarrgasse, one of the few still active, in which brewing is carried out with basic ingredients and which has had continuous active brewing rights since 1335. The cycle and hiking trails lead through an ecologically precious landscape.