Albrecht Dürer's House, which has recently been restored, presents in a new concept the living and working quarters of one ofthe most famous painters and graphicartists in art history, namely Albrecht Dürer (1471-1528). Valuable copies of Dürer paintings will be presented in the newly created Dürer Hall. In the Cabinet of Prints and Drawings special exhibitions will display treasures from the large number of holdings in the graphics collection of the Nuremberg Museum. And finally, Agnes Dürer, his wife, takes you through the master's house, via an audioguide in several languages and even personally in special tours.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 25 68
Alter Stadtgraben 26
91535 Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Telefon +49 (0) 98 61/ 58 10
"Frederick the Great" Army Museum displays the history of the Hohenzollern territories in Franconia from the 12th to 19th centuries which are on display in 32 glass cases. It documents the outward appearance and inner structure of an army which altered the course of history on the battlefields of 18th century Europe and focuses in particular on the time of Frederick the Great (1740-1786).The infantry and cavalry are described in detail, as well as the social structure of the troops. The main exhibits are firearms, swords, flags and paintings. The museum was established jointly with the collector and historian Bernd Windsheimer.
Bavarian Bakery Museum - The arts of baking and dough preparation have a long tradition in the "food focus" of Kulmbach. With many productions, interactive stations and valuable exhibits the visitor goes for a walk of Egyptian baking culture up to the today's bread place variety. In the baker's museum one can see, smell, hear and of course taste history, because at the end of the sightseeing tour a tasty sample from the stone oven will be offered to the visitor.
Bavarian Brewery and Bakery Museum offers an educational and eventful voyage through the world of beer. 3000 m ² illustrate the beer culture with many productions, interactive stations and valuable exhibits. Wonderful old beer mugs, broth houses and bibliophile jewels lure the viewer's eye longer to stay. Enthusiasm is positively encouraged in the glass brewery where the visitor is able to see the master brewers at work.
In 2011 the "Deutscher Burgenwinkel" was opened in the former school in Altenstein in the district of Maroldsweisach. This information centre presents multimedia-based the life in a medieval castle.
July to September and during the bavarian Easter and Whitsun holidays:
Wednesday to Sunday and public holidays 10am to 5pm
October to June:
Saturday, Sunday and public holidays 10am to 5pm
Entrance: with costs
The heart of the new DB Railway Museum is an exhibition landscape on the history of the railway in Germany. The walking tour- over 2,500 m2 on two stories - covers two centuries, including all their technological and economic, political and cultural aspects. Visitors will discover how the railway fundamentally changed all areas of human existence within just a few decades of the 19th century and laid the basis for a mobile society. The multi-media presentations of all of these topics are very varied and well illustrated. Discovery rooms such as the cinema "Adlerama", walk-in tunnels, waiting rooms and train compartments make the tour through the exhibition a fascinating journey of discovery through railway history.
Telefon +49 (0) 18 04/ 44 22 33
The German Pharmacy Museum's collection of over 20.000 objects representing the rich history of medical sciences, especially the history of pharmacy. Housed in one of Germany's architectural landmarks, the Heidelberg Castle, our collection is worldwide the largest and finest in existence, spanning two thousand years of pharmacy history.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 2 58 80
The Marksmen Museum has a special place on castle Callenberg. Even today there is a real lord of the castle who holds the important neo-Gothic building affectionately. The German marksmen club wants to give an understanding for modern marksmen character with all historical roots and topical phenomena. The visitor experiences a time trip by the cultural history and has the opportunity to take part in the light shooting ground actively.
91535 Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Telefon +49 (0) 98 61/ 40 93 65
The German museum of pewter figures at Plassenburg is the largest in the world - 300,000 individual figures in 150 dioramas portray the history of mankind. Also the biggest diorama of the world is here. The 40 square metre diorama which shows the destruction of Kulmbach with 19.385 figures in 1553 has been taken up in 1998 in the Guiness book of the records.
Diocesan Museum - in the former chapter house by Balthasar Neumann the Diocesan Museum shows the sacred splendour of former centuries. The main attraction is the museum's internationally prominent collection of mediaeval textiles, including the so-called imperial cloak that belonged to Heinrich II and Kunigunde, the Gunther Cloth and Clemens II.'s papal regalia. Additional exhibits include liturgical items such as the 12th century Easter candlestick, a 12th century portable altar, goblets, ostensories, crucifixes and an 18th century silver procession madonna.
Dokumentations- und Kulturzentrum Deutscher Sinti und Roma
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 98 11 02
Documentation Centre Nazi Party Rally Grounds - in the Third Reich Nuremberg was the "City of the Nazi Party Rallies". The north wing of the unfinished Congress Hall on the former Nazi Party Rally grounds, designed by the National Socialists to accommodate 50,000 people, is now occupied by the Documentation Centre Nazi Party Rally Grounds. The permanent exhibition "Fascination and Terror" deals with the causes, contexts and consequences of the National Socialist tyranny within an exhibition space of 1,300 m2. The exhibition continues outside, with large panels providing supplementary information on the history of each venue along the Nazi Party Rally Grounds.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 75 38
E.T.A. Hofmann's House - in 2003 the narrow dwelling house of the author and composer E.T.A. Hoffmann was reshaped in a modern literature museum. He occupied the second floor and loft with the poet's little room which is still furnished as it might have been in Hoffmann's day. The other rooms are filled with information and displays as well as installations on the author's life and work. A loge with scenery designs is reminiscent of Hoffmann's opera "Undine", whilst the interactive truth microscope links in with a motif from the fairytale "Meister Floh" (Master Flea). A mirror cabinet illustrates the artist's diversity.
The new experience museum is an enlargement to the Palatinate museum of Forchheim. and let carried away the visitor on a time trip the 16th century. Orchestrations, text boards and radio plays tell from 200 years of fortress history.
Factory Museum of the Leonean Industry - varied products as sieves, uniform effects, Christmas decoration and decorations for ships were made of aureated, silvered or galvanised copper wires. The Leonean Industry was the pre-stage for the cable industry which has developed to an important high tech branch. Because of the successful representation of the manufacturing of leonean goods and related products the Factory Museum was distinguished in 2003 with the Bavarian museum price. Most exhibits are in a functioning state.
Fabrikmuseum der Leonischen Industrie
Obere Mühle 4
Telefon +49 (0) 91 71/ 6 05 64
Memorial site of Friedrich Rückert - the poet and orientalist born in 1788 in Schweinfurt lived up to his death in 1866 in a estate in Neuses near Coburg. The intact study and poetry room is open to the public as a memorial site. The monument in the Rückert park reminds of the writer which wrote many thousand poems, an unbelievably extensive work of wonderful, crazy, moving, and also lost poems of German literature.
Telefon +49 (0) 95 61/ 66 308
Market Gardeners' and Wine-Growers Museum - the working life of the market gardeners and wine-growers is revealed at the Market Gardeners' and Wine-Growers Museum. Set in a typical 18th century market gardeners' house, the museum comprises the furnished rooms of the market gardeners, and the flags and staffs of the market gardeners' and wine-growers' guild, which document their religious lives. In the market garden, liquorice is cultivated in keeping with old traditions. Liquorice was an important commodity well into the 18th century.
Since its founding in 1852 the Germanisches Nationalmuseum has advanced to one of the largest museums of culturalhistory in the German-speaking world. A visit to this treasure chest is almost obligatory for any trip to Nuremberg. It offers ever new discoveries, even for those who come more often to stroll through cultural history, starting with the Pre- and Protohistory section and ranging all the way to the present. Particular highlights include works of Albrecht Dürer, Veit Stoß and Rembrandt, the earliest surviving terrestrial globe, the first pocket watch in the world as well as the largest collection of historical musical instrument in Europe.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 1 33 1-0
Haus der Stadtgeschichte - Otto Rettenmaier Haus
Telefon Tel. 07131 56-2290
Telefax 07131 56-3195
Local Museum at the Grauturm - the museum is directly beside the imposing landmark Grauturm in the Hassberge. This lovely museum encloses all areas of the existence like habitation, household, craft, agriculture, church, schools and associations. 3.000 butterfly preparations illustrate the variety of European species.
Heimatmuseum am Grauturm
Telefon +49 (0) 9531 4756
Historic Rock-Cut Cellars - an extensive labyrinth of underground passageways and cellar vaults has existed in the bedrock of castle hill for centuries - the Historic Rock-Cut Cellars. As early as 1380 red beer was stored in the subterranean cellars, sometimes comprising four levels, that had been cut into the Burgsandstein (local Nuremberg sandstone). During the air raids of World War II many citizens found shelter in these historical vaults.
Brauereiladen Bergstraße 19
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 230 55 92
The “Steinhausmuseum“ is a romanic secular structure of the Staufer Palatinate. There are relicts from the Neolithic and the Roman age. It concentrates on the history of the Palatinate, the Hohenstaufen and the medieval art of ceramics and masonary.
The overall renovation of Johanniterkirche (a secularized church building from the 12th century) has now been completed. As associated gallery of Kunsthalle Würth, Johanniterkirche is now the ideal home for the collection of Old Masters within the Würth Collection. Some preserved exhibits of its former equipment could be returned as permanent loans. The phenomenal Family of Wild People by Lucas Cranach the Elder and a whole range of works from his workshop with religious scenes, secular didactic works and portraits have survived. Numerous panel paintings by the Master of Meßkirch or the panels of the highly significant St. Anthony altarpiece by the Zurich Master of the Pansies have to be emphasized as well.
Im Weiler 1
74523 Schwäbisch Hall
Telefon +49 (0) 791/ 946 723-30
Telefax +49 (0) 791/ 946 723-39
Imperial Castle Museum - in the Kemenate, (a building with residential and work rooms heated by fireplaces or later stoves) the Germanisches Nationalmuseum presents the historical role and the changing tasks of the Nuremberg Imperial Castle. Finds from archaeological digging, ornamental architectural elements, models and reconstruction sketches illustrate the history of this important site.
Auf der Kaiserburg
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 13 31-238
Casemates and Water Supply - deep inside the castle bastions, at the level of the moat, is a network of high vaulted passageways known as casements. With their strategically located embrasures and sally-ports, these passages were intended both for defense and for counter-attack. Directly beneath the Tiergärtnertor, a rock-cut stairway connects the sixteenth century fortifications with a medieval system of water-supply conduits, the so-called "Lochwasserleitung". The tunnels(whose locations were a closely guarded secret) served to collect and conduct water. The secret tunnels through the sandstone bedrock were first mentioned in 1459 and were still of use in the 20th century.
Kasematten und Lochwasserleitung
Auf der Kaiserburg
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 30 55 92
Telefax +49 (0) 911 / 2 30 55
House of Kerner - the former dwelling of the doctor and poet Kerner is a typical house. Here he received numerous prominent personalities of his time. On his exactly kept guest list are names like earl Alexander von Württemberg or David Friedrich Strauss. Today in the upper floor visitors can admire the original equipped living rooms of the family which reflect the residential atmosphere of the 19th century. An attraction is the "coffin room" as well as the mind tower in the garden.
Special highlight of the collection of treasuries of the church are some precious goblets, textiles, books and certificates and a impressive row of epitaphias out of the protestant church.
April - October
Tuesday to Sunday
10am - 12am and 2pm - 4.30pm
adult: € 1,50
pupils: € 1,00
grades of school per person: € 0,50
Telefon +49 (0) 9 21/ 82 458
Manheim Art Gallery - Max Liebermann, Paul Cézanne, Wilhelm Lehmbruck, Otto Dix, Constantin Brâncusi, Edvard Munch, Auguste Rodin, Vincent van Gogh, Édouard Manet, Alberto Giacometti - and many other greats from art history are collected in the Mannheim Art Gallery "Kunsthalle Mannheim". In addition to the internationally renowned collection of paintings and sculptures from the 19th and 20th centuries, visitors can also admire the stars of contemporary art from all over the world in the internationally respected art museum.
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 2 93 64 52
Art Collection of the Veste Coburg - the Veste Coburg is one of the biggest castle buildings of Germany and accommodated guests like the reformer Luther who worked here for his Bible translation. Today the castle contains one of the most important art- and cultural-historical collections of Germany with exhibits of the highest quality. Among the rest, the museum encloses the Hall of Hunting Weapons and a Glass Collection as well as a Hall of Coaches and Sledgescarriage. The Art of the German Renaissance with paintings of Lucas Cranach, Dürer or Holbein is also to see among the artworks.
Augusta-Anlage 58 / Carl-Reiss-Platz
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 40 22 08
Palatinate Museum - The museum's collections of art and cultural history are located in the Palais Morass built in 1712. The museum's attractions include portraits of the Prince Electors, an outstanding collection of coins, and the famous collection of Frankenthal porcelain. The pride of the museum's gallery of sculptures and paintings (15th-20th century) is Tilman Riemenschneider's "Windsheim Altar" dated 1509, depicting the Twelve Apostles. Another focal point of the museum is the documentation of Heidelberg's history.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 58 34 020
"Upper Main Landscape Museum" - in the west wing of the Plassenburg Castle you can find lots of artistically a culturally significant exhibits from the Upper Main region, e.g. famous "Pörbitscher Schatz", burial mounds or the museum of spices.With computers, acustic images and videostagings the museum is vitalize especially.
Memorium Nuremberg Trials - in the criminal court of the Nuremberg Palace of Justice world history was written: On November 20, 1945 the trial against the "main war criminals" began in the criminal court, "Courtroom 600". 21 leading representatives of the National Socialist regime were made to answer for their crimes against peace and humanity. More than 60 years after the trials a permanent exhibition has been opened at the original site to provide relevant information on the background, proceedings and consequences. Historic sound and film footage convey a vivid impression of the trials. The significance of the trials for the development of modern international criminal law made "Courtroom 600" world famous. Guided tours inform about the historical court place and the "Nuremberg processes". The courtroom is also used even today for hearings.
Medieval Dungeons - the dungeons are found in the cellar vaults of the Old Town Hall. They were set up in the 14th c. to serve as cells for prisoners awaiting trial or in custody until their execution. The dungeons were used by the city of Nuremberg in the Middle Ages as a remand prison, The floor, ceilings and walls are lined with wooden panels. They were furnished with a bed, bench, a board as a table and a heating basin in the window. Certain offenders, such as arsonists or slanderers, were kept in the dungeons in specially marked cells. The so-called chapel was used as a torture to extract confessions. The method of torture was decided by the municipal court, which met in the large room of the old town hall.
91535 Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Telefon +49 (0) 98 61/ 53 59
"The Hohenzollerns in Franconia" Museum in the magnificent residential rooms of the 16th-century castle gives an impression of the life of princes in the baroque age. It traces the progress of the Hohenzollerns from the Middle Ages, via the two margraviates from the 17th and 18th centuries to Prussian dominance and the endeavours of the Prussian kings to preserve the Franconian monuments of their family.The museum was set up together with the Haus der Bayerischen Geschichte and the State Collections of Bavaria, in particular the Bavarian Army Museum.
The Nature around Eberbach with the river Neckar, a huge forest and the new red sandstone mountains of the Odenwald determined the life and work of the citizens for centuries. Center of the museum,located in the historical town hall, is "River Neckar as lifeline and arterial highway", "Forest and Humans" and "Geology und use of the stone". Changing exhibitions. Entrance free.
Museum der Stadt Eberbach
Telefon +49 (0) 62 71/ 16 64
Telefax +49 (0) 62 71/ 80 78 82
Museum für Geologie und Paläontologie
Im Neuenheimer Feld 235
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 54 60 47
The Communications Museum focuses on people and the way they communicate - from the first cry of the newborn baby to the chat room. The exhibition is divided up into four areas of communication: sound, images and writing as well as communication via the Internet. Over 400 objects, including historic postal vehicles from the 1950s and 1960s, as well as many media stations make the contents come alive. Interactive elements invite children and adults to communicate, whether in the writing workshop, at the pneumatic postal tubes or as the moderator in a TV studio. The architecture is an essential element of the exhibition design, individually matched to each room's theme. Changing exhibitions on the most diverse aspects of the topic of communications supplement the program.
Museum für Kommunikation
im Verkehrsmuseum Nürnberg, Lessingstraße 6
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 23 08 80
Museum für sakrale Kunst und Liturgie
Merianstraße 1 (Jesuitenkirche)
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 16 63 91
Museum of historical iron hammer in Eckersmühlen - this industrial-historical jewel still produced until 1974. Now it's a "living museum" in which the guests are shown the art of working in a hammer mill very closely. More than five generations was the iron hammer in the possession of the family Schäff, a far branched hammer smith's dynasty. Next to furnishings also exhibits of the historian archeologist Schäff are exhibited in the mansion. In the saw mill an exhibition shows the way „from the ore to the iron“.
Museum Historischer Eisenhammer Eckersmühlen
zwischen Roth und Eckersmühlen
Telefon +49 (0) 91 71/ 8 13 29
General Information on the Museum for Industrial Culture - the museum is located in the hall of a former screw factory, which was part of the Julius Tafel iron works, established in 1876 and closed down in 1975. Along the so-called Museum Street, exhibits are grouped in ensembles in the historic factory building, focusing mainly on the history of industrialisation, using Nuremberg as an example. In 2000, numerous new exhibition units were added and the museum now comprises almost 6,000 square metres. Affiliated specialist museums provide a particular additional attraction, including the Nuremberg Motorcycle Museum, the School Museum (opening planned for March 2009) with its historic classroom, and the "Fun Learning Lab" for hands-on fun and experiments.
Museum Industriekultur und Schulmuseum
Äußere Sulzbacher Straße 62
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 36 48
Castle Ratibor with Municipal Museum - Castle Ratibor is a hunting lodge from 1537. On the first floor is the magnificent dining and large ceremonial room which are reports of the impressive life style. The rooms of the castle accommodate an exciting collection the history of the castle and of the town. The „good parlour" permits a look behind the facades of the middle-class houses. The museum shows also a toy collection or potter ceramic collection and regularly special exhibitions.
Tucher Mansion Museum and the Hirsvogel Hall - the domestic world of a prominent 16th century merchant family comes to life again in the Tucher Mansion Museum. The private collection of the Tucher patrician family includes valuable furniture, tapestries, paintings and fine works of the decorative arts. The picturesque Renaissance garden invites you to picnic there on Sundays and offers a splendid view of the magnificent Hirsvogel Hall (originally built 1534, destroyed 1945, reconstructed 2000). Every Sunday, an actress assumes the role of the former lady of the house, Katharina Tucher, and gives a tour of the mansion, completed in 1544, and the Hirsvogel Hall and entices you to explore the historical secrets of the Tucher Mansion.
Museum Tucherschloss mit Hirsvogelsaal
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 54 21
Museum of Wolfram von Eschenbach - Wolfram Eschenbach is one of the most important writers and epic poets of the Middle Ages and the poet of the prominent epic "Parzival". There is not much preserved from his life and it has been considered sinde 1989 to establish a museum for the emponym of the town. The result is a multimedial museum. Considering architecture, colours and forms the museum brings literature close to the visitor and makes one feel like going through a piece of artwork. The museum offers guided tours with an audioguide.
The Museum Ship - On the banks of the Neckar between the town centre and the port, a historic Rhine steamer lies at anchor - the Museum Ship. Built in 1929, the sidewheeler is today both a museum and a museum piece in itself. On board, the history of travel by boat on the Rhine and Neckar is brought to life. Interesting insights into salvage dives, the galley and the engine room await the visitor. Younger guests on board can learn the art of knots, experiment with whirlpools and currents and have a go at being captain.
auf dem Neckar unterhalb der Kurpfalzbrücke
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 4 29 89
The Natural History Museum in Coburg is located on the area of the court garden. With 700,000 collection units and an exhibition of 2,400 square metres it has the priority of a national museum. Since 1996 new formed exhibitions have shown among other things minerals, fossils, home animals and plants, prehistoric men and ethnology. All subjects are shown with big pictures and models, e.g., copy of an African hut, or the mineral tunnels for children.
The New Museum for Art and Design with its curved glass facade rises over the medieval city walls in the heart of Nuremberg. The art collection contains painting, sculpture and photography from 1945 to the present. Its main focus includes Eastern European artists, international works of geometric abstraction and concrete art. In the area of design there is a cooperation with the New Collection - The International Design Museum Munich, one of the internationally leading museums for 20th century applied art. The Collection displays selected examples of international design from its holdings. Several exhibitions a year, continually changing presentations of the collections and a wide range of tours and events offer a diversity of inspiration and invite visitors to join in the communication process.
Neues Museum - Staatliches Museum für Kunst und Design
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 24 02 00
President Friedrich Ebert Memorial - House where Friedrich Ebert, first president of the Weimar Republic, grew up. Exhibit: "The life and Times of Friedrich Ebert". The house where he was born, which is open to the public, and the permanent exhibition, assist in this objective. The foundations other tasks include maintaining an archive, scientific research, and all types of events such as special exhibitions, congresses, seminars, lectures and school projects.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 21/ 9 10 70
The museum shows the developement of Wimpfen from the ruin of the Staufer to the loss of immediacy of supremacy and the changeover to Hesse in 1803.
The Reiss-Engelhorn-Museums - this interesting museum complex, known as "rem for short, includes the "Zeughaus [Armoury], "Weltkulturen [World Cultures] and "Schillerhaus museums, the "Forum Internationale Photographie" [Forum for International Photography] and the "Zephyr Gallery". As one of the most renowned exhibition houses in Europe, its 11,500m² offer a unique and impressive range. International exhibitions, symposiums, concerts and museum-based educational campaigns entice visitors from all over.
D5 und Zeughaus in C5
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 29 3-31 50
After five years of construction the Wahnfried House, Richard Wagner's Bayreuth home, as well as the Richard Wagner Museum will be accessible to the public again. On 26th July 2015 the Richard Wagner Stiftung as well as the city of Bayreuth will open their new and most important museum. In future the Wahnfried House and the museum will be presented completely new with an extension building and three thematically different permanent exhibitions.
Richard Wagner Museum
Telefon +49 (0) 921/ 75 72 816
The Roman Estate with bath ruin - one of the best preserved Roman constructions was discovered by big chance. With the plant of a tree in 1906 one exposed the floor plan of a Roman bath arrangement at the foot of the castle Weibertreu. Other excavations brought out parts of a Roman dwelling house. This was the proof that the arrangement had no military function but purely civil purposes. The city of Weinsberg restored the arrangement and opened it to the public.
The Museum of Transilvania at Horneck Castle introduces the visitors in the legendary area of the novel figure "Dracula". The essential duties of the State Museum are protection, preservation and documentation of the cultural asset of the German ethnic groups in Transylvania / Romania. It illustrates the interaction of the different ethnic groups there.The museum is an intercultural meeting place with experience character and offers beside the permanent exhibition also interesting special exhibitions.
Telefon +49 (0) 62 69/ 42 23-0
Telefax +49 (0) 62 69/ 42 23-23
Telefon +49 (0) 79 42/ 104-22
Toy Museum - ever since the Middle Ages Nuremberg has been a city of toys. Today, the world-famous Toy Museum with its wealth of exceptional exhibits breathes new life into this great historic tradition over 1,400 m2 of exhibition space. Visitors are greeted by wooden toys on the ground floor. Dolls, exquisite doll's houses and optical gadgetry on the first floor provide an insight into the lifeworld of past centuries. The worldwide most important collection of Lehmann tin toys is the focus of a museum section depicting the history of the company. Cars, trains and steam engines are testimony to the outstanding role the Nuremberg toy manufacturer played in the area of technology. In an imaginative children's area under trained supervision little visitors can play to their heart's content.
Telefon +49 (0) 9 11/ 2 31 31 64
The Municipal Museum in the Deutschhof culture centre, which puts on top-class permanent and temporary exhibitions, also offers impressive guided tours and workshops. The archaeological collection of the Celts, Romans and Alemanns up to the Franconians in the Middle Ages is an intersesting time trip. The museum also shows the art and sculpture collection of Henry Moore, Auguste Rodin and Carl Doerr.
Städtische Museen im Deutschhof
Telefon +49 (0) 71 31/ 56 31 44
Fembo House City Museum - Merchant's House, Patrician's Palatial Residence, Map Publishers, Museum - the Fembo House built between 1591 and 1596 at the foot of the Imperial Castle is many-faceted. The entertaining journey through time begins in the 4th upper story with the large wooden model of the Old Town. Visitors then pass through 26 rooms of the house and discover the diverse, ever more intriguing development of a large town. The highlight is the elaborate multivision show “Noricama”, which presents the history of Nuremberg in a colorful audio-visual dramatization. The exhibition forum with its changing presentations is the showcase for Nuremberg's history, art and culture.
Telefon +49 (0) 911 / 2 31 25 95
Telefax +49 (0) 911 / 2 31-25 96
The TECHNOSEUM invites visitors to travel back in time through the industrialisation of South-west Germany. More than 16 stations in the "working museum allow to experience the technical and social changes of the last 250 years at touching distance. The workshops, machines and equipment on display invite to touch, experiment with and be amazed by how technical innovations changed and continue to change peoples living and working conditions.
Telefon +49 (0) 6 21/ 4 29 89
Museum Weibertreu - in 1140 the German King Konrad III forced the Castle Weinsberg to the capitulation and in this time a unique history occurred. He permitted free deduction to women and children and allowed to the women to take so much of her having as they could carry. To his surprise the loyal women carried her men on the back from the castle what the king generously granted, because one may not break a king's word. The exhibits attend to this happening also to the bloody Easter in 1525 and to the history of castle and town.
Kronenstraße 17 / Schlossgarten 2
Telefon +49 (0) 62 02/ 85 93 9 31